Dynamics of the Subway

My husband and I attended a seniors’ meeting and luncheon this morning, a very nice group we attend together every month.  But the speaker was tedious and then we sang … The Happy Wanderer,   This Land is Your Land, and King of the Road… to guitar accompaniment.  I am still too young for this.

So I came home and looked for newer music about travel.  I like this a lot better!

Each note from the instruments is represented by a geometric shape in the animation; while these shapes move in sync with the song, they also form the parts that create the subway itself.

(Don’t be fooled, as I was, when the train stopped at a station… just wait!)

Dynamics of the Subway is a music video by Haisuinonasa, an alternative Japanese rock group.  They have made several such recordings.  Most of the online material about the group and their work is in Japanese, but if you are curious the automatic translation applications on your computer will probably give you the gist of it in fractured English.

(Have you ever tried translating a text, say English to French, then French to German, then German back to English? No wonder misunderstandings happen!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dynamics of the Subway

  1. Curmudgeon Bludgeon says:

    Hey Motley D.

    I love this kind of thing. Back in the day, when YouTube was young (lol), one of the first things I remember watching was MIDI animations put together using some old music game that geeks had hacked to record on. They’d built up a whole little subculture for themselves. I wish I could remember what the game was called so I could point you its way — it had a real old school charm. (If you search “Synthesia” on YT you can find a more up-to-date version of the same idea, but it just ain’t the same.)

    As for your Subway find, I like it, but I have to confess I’d like it a lot more if the music itself was more interesting. I haven’t listened to anything else by Absence-of-Sewage-Water (lol @ that name), but while the repetitive, boxy nature of the sound works well to “construct” the graphics, it remains, well, repetitive and boxy. Music is an abstract pattern; I think you get more interesting results if you allow it to perform in its *own* space, as it were, without constraining it to conform to a preconceived this-world image.

    Anyway, reading your post last night got me curious about what the world of YouTube has come up with in musical-space composition in the years since those early MIDI pioneers, and I was not disappointed. I think you’ll like these:

    Wow, wow and more wow. I think I like the circle representation best. Each style has its virtues (and there are others), but for me it captures best our intuitive experience of music as a pattern unfolding in time: the present as an ever moving “front” of sound which trails a remembered pattern in its wake while advancing on still-unheard-but-anticipated patterns which lure us ever onward into the musical space. It’s the subtle combination of surprise and satisfied expectation which makes the experience. The other styles capture that experience too, of course, but by turning the viewing angle 90 degrees, as it were, the circle representation allows us to join the stream of the music itself, passing through the present as through a plane — as opposed to viewing it from one side — and so becoming effectively immersed in the unfolding pattern. Just as we do when we listen. Simple but beautiful.

    Don’t get too lost in them, lol.

    CB

  2. Pingback: Invest Me in My Motley

Leave a Reply

