Genesis

Curmudgeon Bludgeon  sent this comment to my blog, “Bucket List”.  What a wonderful surprise!

My sons frequently played their Genesis albums, along with the other music they loved.  I am grateful to be reminded of the sounds filling the house in those happy years.  The vinyl albums and the stereo in the kitchen are long gone, but I will visit YouTube to find what I can .

Here is CB’s comment: (I added the lyrics)

First, the musical accompaniment:

The curtains are drawn
Now the fire warms the room.
Meanwhile outside
Wind from the north-east chills the air,
It will soon be snowing out there.

And some there are
Cold, they prepare for a sleepless night.
Maybe this will be their last fight.

But we’re safe in each other’s embrace,
All fears go out as I look on your face –

Better think awhile
Or I may never think again.
If this were the last day of your life, my friend,
Tell me, what do you think you would do then?

Stand up to the blow that fate has struck upon you,
Make the most of all you still have coming to you, [or]
Lay down on the ground and let the tears run from you,
Crying to the grass and trees and heaven finally on your knees

Let me live again, let life come find me wanting.
Spring must strike again against the shield of winter.
Let me feel once more the arms of love surround me,
Telling me the danger’s past, I need not fear the icy blast again.

Laughter, music and perfume linger here
And there, and there,
Wine flows from flask to glass and mouth,
As it soothes, confusing our doubts.

And soon we feel,
Why do a single thing to-day,
There’s tomorrow sure as I’m here.

So the days they turn into years
And still no tomorrow appears.

Better think awhile
Or I may never think again.
If this were the last day of your life, my friend,
Tell me, what do you think you would do then?

Stand up to the blow that fate has struck upon you,
Make the most of all you still have coming to you, [or]
Lay down on the ground and let the tears run from you,
Crying to the grass and trees and heaven finally on your knees

Let me live again, let life come find me wanting.
Spring must strike again against the shield of winter.
Let me feel once more the arms of love surround me,
Telling me the danger’s past, I need not fear the icy blast again.

And now the Nietzsche:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eternal_return#Friedrich_Nietzsche

Of course Nietzsche is talking about repeating the past and not playing with some hypothetical to-do list for a foreshortened future, but the underlying lesson still applies. If you have lived authentically, you really shouldn’t have all that much to change. (Or at least that’s the idea, lol.)

One thing I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be doing, if I knew I had a year to live, I wouldn’t waste a second of it worrying about my “bucket” list. There’s a hole in it anyway,
dear Liza
dear Liza
there’s a hole in my bucket list
dear Liza
a hole.

(cue music for eternal return . . . )

You too have lived well, Motley D.

Thank you!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Genesis

  1. Dennis O'Brien says:

    Thanks for posting the lyrics. I often think that if I were able to change my past for the better I would end up the victim of unintended consequences. So I simply content myself with the past that I have.

Leave a Reply

