Popcorn

wordpress-logo-notext-rgbA new idea from WordPress, the management for this blog site, is to issue a daily blog prompt by email.  Today’s was, “When you started your blog, did you set any goals? Have you achieved them? Have they changed at all?”

As at happens, I promised myself Jan 1, 2012, that I would write a blog every day for a year. I didn’t quite meet that goal… my blog yesterday was number 365, so I was a bit late.

I also challenged myself to move my handwritten daily journal, something I have done for years, into a more public forum and to try to provoke discussion about the issues and ideas that I find engaging.   I enjoy the challenge and satisfaction of writing… not only for myself, but also for an audience…  albeit anonymous, unresponsive, and unpredictable.

When I am driven by absolute boredom or the need to do some task that is utterly mindless and repetitive I turn to television. Have you ever watched the reality programs on the food channel about chefs competing, or unsuccessful restaurants being challenged to mend their ways? Have you watched Pasquale’s parody of Italian opera while he messes up a fortune’s worth of extravagant food? Where are “The Two Fat Ladies” or Julia Child when we need them?

I found this yesterday, when I was looking at much more serious material on YouTube. It puts those cooking programs in perspective. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

