Law and Order

images.jpggfgfPerhaps I have watched too many Law and Order reruns.  I just discovered a British version on DVD at the library and they were almost as interesting, even without the wisecracking of Greevey, Cragen, and Logan.

Trials are fascinating, particularly those that move beyond assigning blame and address moral and ethical dilemmas in contemporary situations. I brainstormed a list of favourites, and these came immediately to mind…

Do read beyond the list, because I found other interesting things as well…

Law and Order

The Crucible

A Man for all Seasons

A Tale of Two Cities

Trial at Nuremburg

Inherit the Wind and recent documents about Kitzmiller v. Dover Area School District

To Kill a Mockingbird

Snow Falling on Cedars

The Caine Mutiny

The Moon also Rises

The Apology of Socrates

Rashomon

The Gospel narratives

In Cold Blood

I “googled” the topic “movies about trials” and found  two fabulous websites:

The first is devoted to what aspiring lawyers should know, from many aspects of contemporary life and culture… movies for the law student.

The second is from Business Insider… the ten greatest trial movies of all time.  How could I have forgotted Twelve Angry Men?

Come back tomorrow for more intriguing information I found!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Law and Order

  1. Jan Ballantyne says:

    The Verdict popped into my head as one of the best trial movies ever, and although I haven’t seen the movie, John Grisham’s first book, A Time to Kill, is probably his best.

    • motleydragon says:

      Thanks, Jan. I just watched the trailer of The Verdict on UTube, and of course I have seen the film, but don’t remember the details. I shall hunt it down to watch again.
      Grisham’s books are terrific. I shall try to find this one.

Leave a Reply

