Domino Effect

Blogging daily has fallen, at least temporarily, off my to-do list. But I will be back, because I really enjoy the challenge.

We are experiencing the domino effect!

 The domino effect is a chain reaction that occurs when a small change causes a similar change nearby, which then causes another similar change, and so on in linear sequence. The term is best known as a mechanical effect, and is used as an analogy to a falling row of dominoes. It typically refers to a linked sequence of events where the time between successive events is relatively small.  (Wikipedia)

Our household is in chaos!  We started by renovating, right back to the bare structure, our original 1940’s kitchen… started in early October, just finished.

Then we decided to redo the adjacent “big room”… home of piano, dining set, and seating area… in co-ordinating colours.  This involved covering a discolored “popcorn” sprayed ceiling with new drywall, painting everything, renewing the woodwork.  All this freshness made the carpet look remarkably dingy, so we decided to change that also.

But we had also previously decided to restore the original hardwood floors in the rest of the house… pegged oak, in two bedrooms, the den/studio, and the central hall.  Mmmm. The experts recommended that because of the dust from sanding the floors, it would be better to do this before laying the new carpet. And since the wall paper in the bedrooms was decades old and would be messy to remove, that should be done before the floors are refinished.

In the midst of all this, my mother’s oldest friend, a widow aged 98 whom I have looked after for many years, took ill with the flu and died. She had no kin and had outlived all her friends. A collector of dolls, memorabilia, clothing, photos, and plastic bags, she had accumulated an incredible amount. There were also cartons and cartons of obsolete paperwork to examine and destroy.  A dear friend helped me with the sorting. We were astonished at how much she had accumulated in the tiny senior’s apartment.

As I write this my husband and my son are moving the final pieces of antique furniture from her apartment at a lovely retirement village. Where are they taking them? Well, back here, until we figure out how to deal with them.

Everything, yes EVERYTHING from both bedrooms and the studio, even closets and bookcases, has now been packed and moved to the “big room”, which in turn will have to be emptied to lay the carpet.  And we still have half a bedroom to strip of wallpaper and the computer and work surfaces (two tables and two large desks) to move from the den/studio.  But we are way ahead of schedule… the sanders won’t be here until Wednesday.

Wednesday a major storm is predicted! My husband and I are moving in to a local hotel, but they won’t take pets.  My husband is playing the piano at a recital next Saturday and will miss his hours of practice. We will have to find a piano to use, perhaps at the hotel.  My son and Motley are going to camp out here, and try to make the best of it! Pianos and pets don’t travel well.

Both my quilting guild and my embroidery guild are organizing wonderful creative challenges this spring. Although I have done the research and design work for both, there will not be time to complete them… sigh. And I haven’t even started reading the new selection for book group.

But we will have new rooms in this wonderful old house! We have been here for forty years now.  We are getting ready for whatever comes next.

So please don’t go away.  Try reading some of my older blogs, or the blogs in my links.

I will be back!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Domino Effect

  1. FLP says:

    I am almost speechless. I am sure everyone tells you that it will be beautiful in the end, whenever that is, and I am certain this is true. Come quilting to rest your mind or at least to see friends.

  2. Jan B says:

    WOW! What an incredible undertaking, but I know it will be wonderful and worth it in the end, I shudder just to think that we REALLY need to paint after 12 1/2 years in the now not-so-new house. Moving all the furniture etc around was daunting enough that we didn’t do it last year as originally planned. And I’m sorry to hear of Emily’s passing. (Did I get the name right?) In the interim, I know you have friends that will help you get through it. If you need to sew, you can always drop in at Mom’s.

Leave a Reply

