Once upon a Christmas

The Perils of Pauline

The Perils of Pauline

It’s here; I can’t ignore it any more, or pretend it’s not coming. I am, like the hysterical heroine in the old silent movie series,  Perils of Pauline, tied to the railway tracks while the engine  rushes toward me. The tracks are December. Christmas is the train.

I have done my best to ignore my predicament. I have stayed out of retail establishments as much as possible since mid summer. (Back to School makes me nostalgic, Hallowe’en annoys me … more each year… but Christmas!!!) Now my neighbours have put set up their gaudy light displays; and yesterday it snowed. It was not a blizzard, just one of those dustings of snow over black ice, the kind of snow that kills without warning. There were a three fatalities on routes I drive regularly, and the regional transit system cancelled the GO bus service to Toronto, forcing everyone on to overcrowded trains.

So there it is: December, snow, bad driving conditions, outdoor lighting displays… and Christmas.

I promise not to rant too much, but I have found some really interesting, and infuriating, things for my blog in the next few weeks. Let’s start with these three videos.

The first is about shopping… if the trailer tweaks your curiosity and you want an indignant laugh, the whole film is at the end of the blog. The joke gets pretty stale after a while, but I watched it through… anything that both attacks shopping and parodies religious fervour can’t be all bad!

I know that Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton are entertainment anachronisms, but my mother always played them at Christmas, and these two videos are particularly cringe worthy. The first shows a joyless and bemused congregation in a tiny church… listen to the lyrics! The second shows them mobbed by children, many of them ill or handicapped in some way, proclaiming their belief in Santa… and miracles.

Do listen, and let me know your response!

It is always wrong to lie, even to yourself.

Lying to vulnerable children and their caregivers is as bad as it gets.

Doing it on television in celebration of this “happy season” is offensive in the highest degree.

And here’s the full movie… What would JESUS buy?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Once upon a Christmas

  1. Curmudgeon Bludgeon says:

    What would Jesus buy?

    A whip.

Leave a Reply

