Dragon Feathers

Patternista, is full of stunning geometrics, medallions and textures that will come together to make great quilts. The symmetrical prints provide unlimited design possibilities, both for art quilts and contemporary accessories. Dazzling medallions make great focal points, fiery swirls and waves add an extra dash of pop. Colors? Electric blues, oranges and bright pinks and purples. (Benartex website)

This amazing piece of fabric,  called “dragon feathers” is by one of my favourite designers, Paula Nadelstern. It jumped into my arms at a recent quilt show vendors’ mall and whispered “buy me”. So I did.

I have taken several workshops with Ms. Nadelstern and used her painstaking piecing techniques to create wonderful original kaleidoscope designs. They all require the use of fabric printed with bilateral symmetry in two directions… not easy to find… which provides the basis of your colour scheme and  the focal point of each radial design.  This piece had colours I love… lots of black and white, turquoise, celadon green, and four red tones: burgundy, deep pink, red, and a deep orange.

But I should have thought it through more carefully. This is a very large-scale, very busy, very bossy print. There are no transition colours and no quiet areas to provide relief. Despite its dramatic beauty and wonderful colours, I could not make it work for the kaleidoscopes I had in mind.

So I have discarded the project… and learned a valuable lesson. Slow down, and consider all the parts of the whole. This fabric has complexity, symmetry, wonderful colours, and I have worked with this designer’s fabrics in the past with great success. But I had not really planned it out carefully. It was an impulse buy, and too often in the past my impulse buys have not worked out.

But I really hate boring… and if I had been able to pull this off, the creative challenge would have been wonderful!

Scherazade
by Ellen Collington

Here is the center panel of one of my previous kaleidoscope quilts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dragon Feathers

  1. Your Scherazade is lovely! It’s a shame that Dragon Feathers doesn’t lend itself to a similar project. Not that I can tell: I am quite spatially challenged. But I’ll take your word for it. 😉

  2. I have read so many content on the topic of the blogger lovers except this piece of writing is really a good piece of writing, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

