Dorks and Angels

Annie Lennox from video, There Must Be An Angel

Using my own comment to start a new blog feels just a little like self-plagiarism… if such a thing is possible… but there is no way that I can figure out to leave the comment stream open below the blog. Once readers have looked at a blog and moved on, I doubt they come back to look for comments. But here it is.

After posting “Sweet Dreams are Made of This” I received a comment about the song. To which I replied:

My sons used to play her albums, along with Kate Bush, Jane Siberry, ELO, Genesis, Rush, VanGelis, Supertramp. Pink Floyd… what have I forgotten? The stereo was in the kitchen, the center of the house, and hearing these songs evoke many happy memories….

With personal audio equipment to-day, I wonder how many parents are sharing in this aspect of their teens’ lives, whether they even know what they are listening to, whether they want to know and share.

Our kids and their friends could be grouped by the kind of music they liked, and it was a hard-earned lesson in diplomacy when the high school allowed music to be played in the halls before morning bell and into the cafeteria at noon. Everyone had their favourites and negotiations about the playlist were taken quite seriously. I understand and sympathize!

My definition of hell is being cooped up in a place I can’t escape, with the wrong kind of music blaring. Merchants and malls take note!

But then another comment arrived calling my sons “dorks” because of their musical tastes. Sheltered as I am, I had to look it up:

A dork is American/Canadian slang for a quirky, silly and/or stupid, socially inept person, or one who is out of touch with contemporary trends. Similar to nerd and geek, but does not imply the same intellectual proclivity.

A nerd is  foolish or contemptible person who lacks social skills or is boringly studious:  … An intelligent, single-minded expert in a particular technical discipline or profession.

A geek is  an unfashionable or socially inept person… a person with an eccentric devotion to a particular interest.

So all of these are social misfits… a geek is merely eccentric, a nerd is eccentric and smart, a dork has neither redeeming quality,  Wikipedia analyses these distinctions in detail. Such nuance, such complexity! Who would have guessed!

I must thank this commenter for calling this to my attention. My sons were dorky geekish nerds…  intelligent, single-minded, out of touch with contemporary trends, and with eccentric devotion to a particular interest. Every family should be so fortunate! As for social ineptness, well, I beg to differ.

I must also thank this commenter for calling my attention to some more wonderful music.

Kate Bush, Jane Siberry, ELO, Genesis, Rush, VanGelis, Supertramp. Pink Floyd . . . holy shit, Motley D, your sons sound like complete dorks, lol.

But what the heck, there’s a little bit of dork in all of us, right? So I’ll use this as an opportunity to second you on an artist who really never did get the recognition she deserved. All of the others are big names in their way, but poor Plain Canadian Jane Siberry . . . who dat?

I wonder if you know this song [by Jane Siberry]:

Bonus Olympics tie-in with the gymnast angle. I don’t know about the movie (never seen it), but they made a brilliant video out of The Taxi Ride with those credits. The song, of course, is priceless. p.s. Don’t worry, I like Annie too.

Personally, I think There Must Be an Angel is her … best song. Try whistling it to your dog some time. It’ll drive him nuts.

So, of course I had to look up There Must Be an Angel... by Annie Lennox. This is what she sang at the Queen’s Jubilee concert.

Jane Siberry has a wonderful song Calling All Angels.  Here she performs it with another Canadian favourite, k.d.laing. This video is also quite beautiful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

