Sweet Dreams are Made of This

Sweet Dreams Are Made of This  is my favourite song by Annie Lennox and the Eurythmics. Be forewarned, though, that you may not be able to get it out of your head for the rest of the day.

The music for the films of The Lord of the Rings was also composed and performed by Annie Lennox and the Eurythmics.  What is there not to like about this group and  their star performer? It is really fun to see these images of LOTR… I must watch it again soon.

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Dreams are Made of This

  1. FLP says:

    Just reading the title makes the song get stuck in my head. Annie Lennox is my favourite and I was hoping she would sing at the closing.

  2. motleydragon says:

    My sons used to play her albums, along with Kate Bush, Jane Siberry, ELO, Genesis, Rush, VanGelis, Supertramp. Pink Floyd… what have I forgotten? The stereo was in the kitchen, the center of the house, and hearing these songs evoke many happy memories. I am going to blog about Kate Bush tomorrow.
    With personal auditory equipment to-day, I wonder how many parents are sharing in this aspect of their teens’ lives, whether they even know what they are listening to, whether they want to know and share.
    Our kids and their friends could be grouped by the kind of music they liked, and it was a hard earned lesson in diplomancy when the high school allowed music to be played in the halls before morning bell and into the cafeteria at noon. Everyone had their favourites and negotiations about the playlist were taken quite seriously.
    I understand and sympathize! My definition of hell is being cooped up in a place I can’t escape, with the wrong kind of music blaring. Merchants and malls take note!

  3. Curmudgeon Bludgeon says:

    Kate Bush, Jane Siberry, ELO, Genesis, Rush, VanGelis, Supertramp. Pink Floyd . . . holy shit, Motley D, your sons sound like complete dorks, lol.

    But what the heck, there’s a little bit of dork in all of us, right? So I’ll use this as an opportunity to second you on an artist who really never did get the recognition she deserved. All of the others are big names in their way, but poor Plain Canadian Jane Siberry . . . who dat? I wonder if you know this song:

    Bonus Olympics tie-in with the gymnast angle. I don’t know about the movie (never seen it), but they made a brilliant video out of The Taxi Ride with those credits. The song, of course, is priceless.

    p.s. Don’t worry, I like Annie too. Personally, I think There Must Be an Angel is her (their) best song. Try whistling it to your dog some time. It’ll drive him nuts.

Leave a Reply

