Annie’s Little Steampunk Bird

Annie Lennox Sings Little Bird at the Closing Deremony

What an absolute delight to see Annie Lennox perform at the closing ceremony! She looked and sounded wonderful… as unique and impressive as ever!

Not only that, she performed with a large ensemble all dressed… as she was… in gorgeous reds and blacks in a kind of neo-Victorian punk. The centerpiece of her set was a great ruined boat, with ragged sails …or wings perhaps… soaring on either side of her. More pictures here. Annie with attitude and originality, doing something completely different… a steampunk goddess!

Watch the whole performance here…  even the stadium lighting is perfect, to say nothing of the wing bearer!  I can link it but not embed it… here is the link again, just in case. http://www.eurythmics.me.uk/2012/08/12/annie-lennox-performs-xxx-at-the-london-2012-olympic-games-closing-ceremony/#. But be quick in case it disappears as  so many other great Olympic moments have.

And if the Olympic video disappears, the original video of the song is here. The camera tricks are awesome … Annie sings with herself in many different personnae… and the lyrics are crystal clear.

“Little Bird”

I look up to the little bird
That glides across the sky
He sings the clearest melody
It makes me want to cry
It makes me want to sit right down
and cry cry cry
I walk along the city streets
So dark with rage and fear
And I…
I wish that I could be that bird
And fly away from here
I wish I had the wings to fly away from here

But my my I feel so low
My my where do I go ?
My my what do I know ?
My my we reap what we sow
They always said that you knew best
But this little bird’s fallen out of that nest now
I’ve got a feeling that it might have been blessed
So I’ve just got to put these wings to test

For I am just a troubled soul
Who’s weighted…
Weighted to the ground
Give me the strength to carry on
Till I can lay this burden down
Give me the strength to lay this burden down down down yeah
Give me the strength to lay it down

But my my I feel so low
My my where do I go ?
My my what do I know ?
My my we reap what we sow
They always said that you knew best
But this little bird’s fallen out of that nest now
I’ve got a feeling that it might have been blessed
So I’ve just got to put these wings to test

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

