Goldilocks Conditions and Threshhold Moments

This morning I got so caught up in the staggering complexity of the internet that my curiosity ran away with the clock and I did not leave myself enough time to write the blog I was thinking about. Perhaps tomorrow!

Isn’t it exciting that NASA’s most recent mission to Mars is called “Curiosity”! More about that also, on another day.

I have always been either gifted or afflicted… sometimes I am not sure which… with an excess of curiosity. I was one of those annoying children who persisted in asking awkward, annoying, and unanswerable questions. ( For an example, see my blog from April 8, 2012 about adultery.) Despite Dr. Spock’s reassurance, this was not “just a phase”… and I did not outgrow it.

When I was teaching, especially in later years in the gifted program, research skills were prominent in the curriculum. Pre-computer, this meant sending  a pupil to the library to “look something up”. I was never surprised when finding even a simple answer to a straightforward question could take an inquisitive child “far too long.” It was not research incompetence, or dawdling to avoid other work back in the classroom.  I always asked, “What else did you find out?” The answer was nearly alway more interesting and sometimes more relevant than the one I had assigned. Bravo!

So  here, to satisfy our curiosity for to-day, is a wonderful lecture from TED:

Backed by stunning illustrations, David Christian narrates a complete history of the universe, from the Big Bang to the Internet, in a riveting 18 minutes. This is “Big History”: an enlightening, wide-angle look at complexity, life and humanity, set against our slim share of the cosmic timeline.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

