19/20/21… World Population Day

The project known as 19.20.21 is based on the premise that there will be 19 cities in the world with populations of 20 million people in the 21st century. You can learn more about  it here… please click the link!   http://www.192021.

These statistics are so important… worth remembering and thinking about every day, but tomorrow especially!  World Population Day is an annual event, observed on July 11, which seeks to raise awareness of global population issues. It was established by the Governing Council of the United Nations Development Programme in 1989, inspired by the public interest in Five Billion Day on July 11, 1987, approximately the date on which the world’s population reached five billion people.

The project and slide show 19/20/21 were organized by Richard Saul Wurman, author, thinker, founder of the TED conferences and video lectures, and author of one of the most helpful books I have ever read.  Information Anxiety by Richard Saul Wurman has been in my book collection since it was first published in 1990.  It has missed cull after cull, as I know I will want to reread it. Despite how much the electronic communications media have changed the way we access, manipulate, and store information, much of Wurman’s good advice still stands. I will blog about this another time.

Wurman is an interesting thinker who manages to organize and explain very complex information in ways that are easy to remember and easy to use. I have found several of his books to be very helpful, and if you have been following my blog, you know already how much I appreciate the lectures on TED.

Using maps in the slide show to demonstrate the growth of cities, as well as their seaboard locations drives home, at least to me, the immanent dangers of both overpopulation and global warming. The  bright RED makes me think of blood, of danger, of fire, of  STOP! There is neither too much information, nor too little… but just enough to engage my mind, my emotions, my imagination.

The nay sayers, those who appear to be in denial about both overpopulation and global warming, include both the papacy and other religious leaders, and the political leaders bowing to pressure from them. I would like to lock them all in a small overheated room together, without cold safe drinking water, and make them watch that slide show over and over. Then I would gradually flood the locked room.

Yes, this is an unkind, an angry, a violent fantasy.

The issues make me see RED! Thank you, Mr. Wurman, for helping get the word out!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

