The Eye of the Beholder

I couldn’t resist making a collage of these photos of the Niagara tunnel under construction.

I am a needleworker…  embroiderer, quilter, fiber artist. I love radial symmetry, asymmetrical placement of the focal point, the play of light and dark values, shiny surfaces.  I like the ironic juxtaposition of enormous technology and finely wrought stitches. I love the unexpected surprise!

The Canadian Embroidery Guild Guelph challenge for the conference this spring is “connections” in a piece no larger than 8″ x 10″ finished and mounted.  One of these images would make an intriguing piece.

Do I want to abandon what I have already started?

Would there be enough time to do it justice?

Maybe if I drop everything else and start now!  Alas, it is exactly this sort of impulsive enthusiasm that leaves me with too many unfinished projects  and no time to work on them.  But on the other hand…

The human scale

There are many such pictures on the company website which is part of the Niagara website linked in my earlier blog. Check the picture gallery at the bottom which opens by date.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Eye of the Beholder

  1. CarolWiebe says:

    Do it!

Leave a Reply

