Banned and Challenged Books

Aren’t they lovely… these readers painted by Renoir in 1890. No banned books for them!

I wrote this morning, “I had intended to reread at least one or two of my favourite banned books”, and my son challenged me to name them.  That is like being asked to choose your favourite child.  I referred him to the following lists and asked him to guess.  What would be your pick?

The GOOGLE list

The Top Ten Reasons for Challenging a Book

The American Library Association (ALA) sponsors another celebration of freedom to read during “Banned Books Week” (BBW), this year from Sept 30 to Oct 6 (2012).

So I will have time to reread more than two of my favourites, and to explore a few new ones!

Do comment back, and tell us about your favourites!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

