The Lady in Gold

My apologies at being away so long.  After ten days or so of fighting an undefined illness I have nicknamed the fleeping slu, I found myself playing catchup in everything and the blog got pushed aside.  Not for lack of ideas though!  Too tired to think or write, between naps I browsed the internet as usual and bookmarked many things to come back to.

Browsing, I discovered another book I want to read… “The Lady in Gold: The Extraordinary Tale of Gustav Klimt’s Masterpiece, ‘Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer’” (Alfred A. Knopf). Here is a detailed review and interesting slide show  from Women’s Wear Daily Monday, March 5, 2012…

Years ago for a wedding anniversary present for my son and his wife I created an interpretation of “The Kiss”, a work I now look at and shake my head in disbelief.  I was an experienced needleworker but new to quilting and fiber arts as we now call the mixed media interpretations.  I wanted to do it; so I did!

Since than I have read a lot more about Klimt.   I was surprised to learn that there are several interpretations of “The Kiss” and that his all enveloping tender  embrace may indicate overwhelming sexual aggression, while the closed eyes and clenched hand of the lady may indicate reluctance and resistance rather than an erotic swoon. Ah, yes, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and why should I let the feminists spoil this iconic (and now rather clichéd) image of love?

Don’t be misled by the prettiness. The beautiful portrait of Judith usually crops out the decapitated head of Holofernes. And Klimt was NOT a nice person!  Should it matter?

I have just finished reading two novels set in Europe during WWII.  I will talk about them in another blog. The story of the history of the painting of Adele sounds fascinating on many levels.  I look forward to reading it and learning more about the puzzle of how real people lived and got through those terrible times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lady in Gold

  1. Curmudgeon Bludgeon says:

    That’s an amazing piece of fibre art, Motley Dragon. You should post more of your stuff.

Leave a Reply

