What the Dickens!?

I just discovered that February 7, 2012, will mark the 200th anniversary of the birth of Charles Dickens!  Immediately I wanted to see again the 1958 film of A Tale of Two Cities starring Dirk Bogarde. I will, of course reread it, and remember the exciting times we had using it in my classroom. And of course, Great Expectations, as well. But even rereading it with great pleasure will not replace the tear inducing spectacle of the tumbrils rolling toward the guillotine while Sydney Carton takes the hand of the little seamstress and  Madame Defarge’s lieutenant looks for her frantically in the crowd! I haven’t watched a three hankie movie in a long time!

I found out about the anniversary because I was linking from one website to another, trying to satisfy my  curiosity before sharing a favourite link. Have you discovered the Google Art Project? It allows you to “explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.”  http://www.googleartproject.com/

Which gallery will I visit with my coffee this morning? It is so very very cold out… no walk to-day! Just a half hour of self indulgence in my cozy robe, in this cozy nook, with a vicarious tour of wonderful art in places I have never seen but always been curious about.

Alas, the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, which I have visited, and which has its own excellent website, is not on that Google Art list. But it is at http://www.vam.ac.uk/ And that’s where I learned about the anniversary.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

