Invest me in my motley . . .

Invest me in my motley; give me leave/ To speak my mind…
As You Like It, Act 2, Scene 7

Happy New Year! I hope you enjoyed the holiday season with good health and a happy heart.

This new blog is my 2012 creative venture, both scrapbook and journal, an attempt to record my interests and to reach out to kindred spirits who enjoy exploring similar issues and ideas. I invite you to share them with me, and add your own selections to the mix.

To begin, I chose this old prayer as the basis for a worthy but challenging new year’s resolution.

Aspirations and Affirmations for the New Year
(edited from “A seventeenth century nun’s prayer”)

I am growing older and will someday be old. I need to avoid the fatal habit of thinking I must say something on every subject and on every occasion. I must resist the craving to straighten out everybody’s affairs. My goal is to be thoughtful, but not moody; helpful, but not bossy. With my vast store of wisdom, it seems a pity not to use it all, but I want a few friends at the end. It is difficult to avoid the endless recital of details; I need wings to get to the point. And I must seal my lips on my own aches and pains, especially as they are increasing, and love of discussing them is becoming sweeter as the years go by. Even if I cannot eagerly respond to the tales of others’ pains, I can at least try to endure them with patience. I dare not ask for improved memory, but for a growing humility and a lessening over-confidence when my memory seems to clash with the memories of others. I will, however, remember the glorious lesson that occasionally, I may be mistaken. I want to be reasonably sweet, to encourage the ability to see good things in unexpected places and talents in unexpected people, and to cultivate the generosity to tell them so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Invest me in my motley . . .

  1. Fran P. says:

    Congratulations on your exciting new venture. I look forward to much wisdom and fun.
    F.

  2. Bill Johnston says:

    A very wise woman, this nun. It’s all advice I’d do well to follow. I especially need to not get lost in detail but to focus on the point of what I’m doing.
    I look forward to your rich thoughts to come as your blog develops.

Leave a Reply

